Deadlines Seniors

    Deadlines and Important Dates for Seniors

    Department of Religion 2013-2014

    Sept. 11, (Wed., noon) Mandatory Undergraduate Meeting (Dept. Lounge)

    Sept. 18-20 (Wed. - Fri.) Meet with Departmental Representative to discuss Senior Thesis topics and to submit Senior Worksheet and Area Requirement form (available on the department website)

    Sept. 26, (Thurs.) Students notified of thesis adviser assignments

    Oct. 2-4, (Wed.-Fri.) Students meet with thesis adviser

    Oct. 21, (Mon.) Submit five-page thesis proposal to adviser

    The proposal should include (at minimum):

    - description of topic, scope of the project, and methodological approach you plan to take

    - discussion of how your coursework at Princeton or elsewhere has prepared you to pursue the topic

    - a brief survey of sources and discussion of the kinds of evidence you plan to use

    - a discussion of the contribution your work will make to the existing scholarship in your area

    - a preliminary bibliography

    - a preliminary writing plan or chapter outline

     

    PLEASE NOTE: Your adviser may require that you submit a revised proposal before you move to the research and writing phase.


    Nov. 11-13, (Mon.-Wed.) Meet with Dep. Rep. to review Spring Course Selections

    Dec. 9, (Mon.) Submit partial first draft (20 pages) to Undergraduate Administrator by 3:00pm

    Jan. 20, (Mon.) Submit draft of additional twenty pages to adviser

    Feb. 17, (Mon.) Submit draft of additional twenty pages to adviser
    (Email committee about senior t-shirts)

    Mar. 10, (Mon.) Submit draft of entire thesis to adviser

    Apr. 14, (Mon., noon) Submit two copies of thesis, 1 electronic & 1 hard copy, to the Undergraduate Administrator by 12:00pm

    EXTENSIONS: Extensions of independent work deadlines may be granted only under extraordinary circumstances, usually involving medical conditions, and students must petition the departmental representative in advance of the deadline. Individual advisers cannot grant extensions. For extensions beyond Dean's date, students must consult their residential college Dean or Director of Studies.

    April 30, (Wed., noon) Mandatory meeting for seniors, department lounge
    (Discussion on Senior Comprehensive Examinations)

    May 7, (Wed., 12-2) Department picnic, lawn outside 1879 Hall

    May 8, (Thurs., 12-2) Rain date for picnic

    May 9, (Fri., noon) Email Senior Comprehensive Statement to Undergraduate Administrator

    May 12, (Mon.) Students receive comments from first and second readers

    May 14-16, (Wed.- Fri.) Senior Comprehensive Orals (You MUST leave these dates open and unscheduled.) Each exam allotted 90 minutes

    June 2, (Mon. 3:30-4:30) Class Day Reception, Mathey College Common Room

    June 3, (Tues.) Commencement Day

Undergraduate News

Senior Award Recipients

2013 Danforth Lecture

  • featuring Robert Wuthnow
    Princeton University
    Title: "Polls, Surveys, and the Shaping of American Religion"
    Date: Wednesday, December 4, 2013
    Time: 4:30 PM
    Location: Betts Auditorium School of Architecture