Professor Seth Perry receives President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching

Written by
Emily Aronson, Office of Communications
May 28, 2024

Four Princeton University faculty members received President’s Awards for Distinguished Teaching at Commencement ceremonies Tuesday, May 28.

They are Gary Bass, the William P. Boswell Professor of World Politics of Peace and War and a professor of politics and the School of Public and International Affairs; Laura Kalin, associate professor of linguistics in the Council of the Humanities; Seth A. Perry, associate professor of religion; and Clancy W. Rowley, the Sin-I Cheng Professor in Engineering Science and a professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering.

The awards were established in 1990 through a gift by Princeton alumni Lloyd Cotsen of the Class of 1950 and John Sherrerd of the Class of 1952 to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching by Princeton faculty members. Each winner receives a cash prize of $5,000, and their departments each receive $3,000 for the purchase of new books. 

A committee of faculty, academic administrators, undergraduates and graduate students selected the winners from nominations by students, faculty colleagues and alumni.